Home

.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.
.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.

.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.Home calendar about fellowships aktuell publications media


The IFK Internationales Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften was founded in Vienna in 1993. It is an independent institute for advanced study that aims to support and develop the transdisciplinary cultural analysis and the study of culture.


To achieve this objective the IFK focuses its work on the following areas:
  • Offering young scholars possibilities to undertake research, do projects, and hold discussions through its Junior Fellowship
  • Internationalizing the humanities in Austria by hosting renowned scholars as Senior Fellows and Research Fellows
  • Extending the reach and utility of the study of culture by developing and supporting Research Foci
  • Promoting a problem-oriented, method-conscious, transdisciplinary, self-reflexive, intellectual culture by its sponsorship of Lectures & Conferences
  • Communicating the best and most innovative research results by publishing Papers

To further the development of the relatively new discipline of cultural studies, it is important to thematize the realm of culture (art, literature, architecture, sciences, media, life-styles, and the culture of everyday life) in a comprehensive manner. Culture cannot be grasped merely historically as the memory of a society but is equally understood as a realm of discourse regarding society's future prospects. Culture may be understood as a dynamic process that produces and interprets meanings and is shaped by political, social, and economic contexts. Culture as the sum of life-forms and life-styles of human beings, differently determined according to place, society, and history, is not self-referential but articulates societal processes as well.

Thus the task of cultural studies is not only to analyse the "interior" of given aesthetic, literary, and popular practices, but also to assay their external conditions. Consequently, cultural studies can be understood as a project of deciphering cultures as textures of the social. In this reading culture is neither one factor (among others) nor a hermetic sphere, but rather it suffuses the whole texture of social life.

Archive .:.  Contact .:.  Links .:.  Impressum

Home

.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.
.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.

.:. Internationales Forschungszentrum für Kulturwissenschaften .:. International Research Center for Cultural Studies .:.Home calendar about fellowships aktuell publications media


Das IFK Internationales Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften in Wien wurde 1993 gegründet. Es ist ein außeruniversitäres und unabhängiges Wissenschaftskolleg mit dem Ziel, interdisziplinäre Formen von Kulturanalyse und Kulturstudien zu entwickeln und zu fördern.


Die wichtigsten Ziele des IFK liegen
  • in der Förderung von jungen KulturwissenschafterInnen im Rahmen von Junior Fellowships
  • in der Internationalisierung der österreichischen Humanwissenschaften durch die Einladung von Senior Fellows und Research Fellows, die avancierte Formen von Kulturwissenschaften betreiben
  • in der Entwicklung von neuen Forschungsansätzen im Rahmen von Forschungsschwerpunkten
  • in der Beförderung einer Wissenschaftskultur im Rahmen seiner Veranstaltungen, die problemorientiert, methodenbewusst, transdisziplinär, selbstreflexiv und diskursiv ist und
  • in der Herausgabe von Publikationen mit innovativen Forschungsergebnissen.

Kultur kulturwissenschaftlich betrachtet

Das IFK steht für einen breiten Kulturbegriff, der Kunst, Literatur, Architektur, Wissenschaften, Medien, Lebensstile, Alltagskultur etc. umfasst. Kultur wird dabei nicht rein historisch als das Gedächtnis einer Gesellschaft begriffen, sondern als Medium der Auseinandersetzung über die Zukunft einer Gesellschaft. Sie wird als dynamischer Prozess aufgefasst, der von lebensweltlichen Orientierungen ebenso geprägt ist wie von politischen, gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Kultur ist nicht auf sich selbst bezogen, wenn sie als Summe der Lebensformen von Menschen verstanden wird, die je nach Ort, Gesellschaft und Geschichte unterschiedlich sind. Sie bringt immer auch Gesellschaft zum Ausdruck.

Die Kulturwissenschaften haben somit die Aufgabe, nicht nur das "Innere" ästhetischer, literarischer und populärer Praktiken zu analysieren, sie beschäftigen sich ebenso mit deren äußeren Bedingungen. Die Kulturwissenschaften können als ein Projekt verstanden werden, Kulturen als Texturen des Sozialen zu entziffern: Kultur ist in dieser Lesart weder ein Faktor (neben anderen) noch ein in sich geschlossener Bereich, sondern sie imprägniert gewissermaßen das gesellschaftliche Leben überhaupt.

Archive .:.  Contact .:.  Links .:.  Impressum